Continent: South America

Previous name: Terra de Santa Cruz.

Date of independence: 7th September 1822.

Languages spoken: Portuguese and many indigenous languages.

Population: Approximately 211,715,973

Flag: Brazil’s flag is made up of yellow, green, and blue with a celestial globe at the centre of a yellow diamond and 27 stars. Green represents the forests, yellow the country’s mineral richness, and blue the republic. The stars signify the number of states in Brazil.


Key facts: Brazil is found in the east of the South American continent and is bordered by Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru, French Guiana, Guyana, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Brazil is home to the Amazon and Amazon River, the world’s largest rainforest and second longest river in the world respectively. Most of the population is aged between 25 and 55 years. The population is mainly concentrated to the east and on the Atlantic coast in Sao Paolo, Brasilia, and Rio de Janeiro. Brazil is a democratic country divided into 26 states, with a presidential system. Elections are held every four years. 


Symbols and culture: The Southern Cross constellation and the national colours are Brazil’s symbols. Brazil is home to several ethnicities which practice varying cultures.


Natural resources: Alumina, bauxite, beryllium, gold, iron ore, manganese, nickel, niobium, phosphates, platinum, tantalum, tin, rare earth elements, uranium, petroleum.