Democratic Republic
of Congo

Continent: Africa

Previous name: Congo Free State, Belgian Congo, Congo/Leopoldville, Congo/Kinshasa, Zaire

Date of independence:  30th June 1960

Languages spoken: French, Lingala, and Kingwana are the official languages

Population: Approximately 101,780,263

Flag: The Democratic Republic of Congo’s (DRC)  flag is made up of three colours: red, sky blue, and yellow, with a five-pointed star on the uppermost left side. The colours represent the blood of the country’s martyrs, peace and hope, wealth and prosperity, and the country’s richness. The star represents unity of the people.


Key facts: The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) is found in the central part of Africa and is bordered by Angola, Burundi, Rwanda, Zambia, Tanzania, Uganda, Central African Republic, and DRC. DRC’s terrain has a large basin, with a low-lying plateau, and has numerous rivers and a vast rainforest. The population is spread out evenly, with most people living in either the east or the west. The majority of the population is below 25 years old. DRC is divided into 26 provinces and uses a semi-presidential system of governance. The president is elected every five years, and appoints a prime minister to manage government business. DRC is home to several active volcanoes including Nyiragongo, Nyamuragira, and Visoke.

Symbols and culture: The leopard and the national colours are DRC’s symbols. Due to the large number of ethnic communities, various cultures are practiced.

Natural resources: Cobalt, copper, niobium, tantalum, petroleum, industrial and gem diamonds, gold, silver, zinc, manganese, tin, uranium, coal.