Continent: Africa

Previous name: Kemet

Date of independence: 28th February 1922

Languages spoken: Arabic is the official language. English and French are also spoken

Population: Approximately 104,124,440

Flag: The Egyptian flag is red, white, and black with a Saladin eagle emblem. These colours represent the struggle to attain freedom, hope, and persecution respectively.

Key facts: Egypt is found in the north of Africa and is bordered by Sudan, Libya, and the Mediterranean Sea. Egypt is one of the oldest civilisations in the world (over 3,000 years) and has played a key part in human history; it is known as ‘a cradle of civilisation’. It is home to the Pyramids of Giza, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Egypt is generally a desert plateaued country with fertile valleys along the banks of the River Nile, the longest river in the world. Most of the population is settled along the River Nile. Egypt has a presidential system of government with elections every six years.

Symbols and culture: The golden eagle and white lotus are Egypt’s symbols. Egypt has a rich cultural heritage and an identity that has endured for generations, despite influence from foreign rulers, including the Ottoman Empire and the British Empire.


Natural resources: Petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, phosphates, manganese, limestone, gypsum, talc, asbestos, lead, rare earth elements, zinc.

Source of images: