Continent: Africa

Previous name: British East Africa Protectorate.

Date of independence: 12th December 1963.

Languages spoken: The formal languages are English and Swahili. However, there are over forty ethnic languages spoken in Kenya.

Population: Approximately 53, 527,936 (53.53 million) people.

Flag: The Kenyan flag is made up of black, white, red, and green, with a shield at the centre. These signify the Kenyan people, peace, the fight for independence, and the natural vegetation respectively.


Key facts: Kenya was colonised by the British, but gained independence in 1963 after numerous rebellions. Kenya has had only four presidents since independence. It is a democratic country made up of 47 counties, each headed by a governor. The governing system in Kenya is a presidential system with elections held once every five years, where all elective posts are contested. The Kenyan economy relies on agriculture, foreign exchange, and trade. Kenya is a relatively hilly country with a few plains and plateaus and has the second tallest mountain in Africa, Mt. Kenya, which stands at 5199m above sea level. Kenya is located in the east of Africa and is bordered by five countries: Somalia, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Uganda, and Tanzania.

Symbols and culture: Kenya has many ethnicities who practice different cultures. The lion and the national colours are the most revered symbols of the Kenyan people.


Natural resources: Petroleum and natural gas, coal, titanium, soda ash, minimal gold deposits, fluorspar, limestone, and diatomite.