Continent: Africa

Previous name: French Sudan and Sudanese Republic

Date of independence: 22nd September 1960

Languages spoken: French, Bambara, and various others

Population: Approximately 19,553,397

Flag: The Malian flag is red, yellow, and green. These represent sacrifice and determination, natural wealth, Islamic beliefs, and unity.

Key facts: Located in the west of Africa, Mali is bordered by Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mauritania, Niger, and Senegal. The country has no access to the ocean. Mali’s terrain has hills and rolling plains in the north, with low lying savanna grasslands in the south. Most of Mali’s population lives in the south, and the majority are under 25 years old. The country experiences regular migrations due to poverty, conflict, or natural hazards. Mali is divided into ten regions and is governed by a semi-presidential system. Democratic elections are held every five years.

Symbols and culture: The Great Mosque of Djenne and the national colours are the country’s symbols. The presence of several communities results in various cultural practices in Mali.


Natural resources: Gold, phosphates, kaolin, salt, limestone, uranium, gypsum, granite, bauxite, iron ore, manganese, tin, and copper.