Continent: Africa

Previous name: Royal Niger Company Territories

Date of independence: 1st October 1960

Languages: English is the official language, but there are over 500 distinct languages spoken

Population: Approximately 214,028,302

Flag: The Nigerian flag consists of two colours, white and green. White represents unity and peace, while green represents the country’s natural wealth.

Key facts: Nigeria is located in the western part of Africa and is bordered by Benin, Chad, and Cameroon. The country’s terrain is made up of hills, plains, plateaus, and mountains. The population is scattered across Nigeria, with the majority concentrated in the south. It is the world’s seventh most populated country. Nigeria is a democratic nation, which was colonised by the British. It has a presidential system and is divided into 36 states with elections held every four years. Nigeria’s economy is heavily reliant on petroleum as its main source of foreign income.

Symbols and culture: Nigeria’s symbol is the eagle. The country has over 250 ethnic communities who practice varying cultures. Nigeria is also well known for its music and its film industry, ‘Nollywood’.

Natural resources: Natural gas, petroleum, tin, iron ore, coal, limestone, niobium, lead, zinc.

source of images: