Continent: Africa.

Previous name: Senegambia, Mali Federation.

Date of independence: 4th April 1960

Languages spoken: French.

Population: Approximately 15,736,368.

Flag: The Senegalese flag has three colours, red, yellow, and green, with a green five-pointed star. These represent sacrifice and determination, natural wealth, Islamic beliefs, and unity and hope respectively.



Key facts: Senegal is found in west of Africa and is bordered by Guinea-Bissau, Gambia, Mali, and Mauritania. The terrain is made up of low-lying plains with a few hills. The population is concentrated to the west of the country with more than half of the people being below 25 years old. The country is democratic and uses a presidential system of governance, divided into 14 regions. Elections are held every five years. The Senegalese people rely on mining, construction, tourism, trade, fishing, and agriculture for economic growth. However, the cost of electricity in Senegal is among the most expensive in the world.


Symbols and culture: The lion and national colours are Senegal’s symbols. Islamic culture is practiced in most parts of the country.


Natural resources: Phosphates and iron ore.