South Africa

South Africa

Continent: Africa

Previous name: Union of South Africa

Date of independence: 31st May 1961

Languages spoken: Several official languages are spoken in South Africa including Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans, Sepedi, Setswana, English, Sesotho, Xitsonga, Swati, Tshivenda, and Ndebele

Population: Approximately 56,463,617

Flag: The South African flag is made up of six colours: yellow, red, blue, green, white, and black designed in a Y shape on the left side of the flag. The Y represents ethnic unity and the others are from flags of foreign settlers and the African National Congress.



Key facts: South Africa is the southernmost country in Africa and is bordered by Swaziland, Lesotho, Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe. South Africa is made up of several mountainous regions, plateaus, and a narrow coastline. South Africa is a diverse society with numerous ethnicities stemming from the cultural interaction between the natives, such as the Afrikaans. The country is divided into nine provinces and is governed by a parliamentary system. A president is elected by legislators to serve a five year term. The population is concentrated to the south, east, and centrally, where the climate is favourable.


Symbols and culture: The springbok, King Protea flower, and national colours are South Africa’s symbols. Its culture is very diverse, leading to the nickname ‘the rainbow nation’.


Natural resources: Gold, chromium, antimony, coal, iron ore, manganese, nickel, phosphates, tin, rare earth elements, uranium, gem diamonds, platinum, copper, vanadium, salt, natural gas.

Source of images: